Laura Lane McNeal Dollbaby Book

Laura Lane McNeal Dollbaby Book

Dollbaby

A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra PickA big hearted coming of age debut set in civil rights era New Orleans a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets When Ibby Bell s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra PickA big hearted coming of age debut set in civil rights era New Orleans a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets When Ibby Bell s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father s urn for good measure Fannie s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum is like no one she has ever met Fortunately, Fannie s black cook, Queenie, and her smart mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets For Fannie s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion It will take Ibby s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby s hard won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts

Title : Dollbaby
Author :  Laura Lane McNeal
Language : English
Isbn : 0670014737
Format : Hardcover
Pages : 337 pages

Rating: 4.6

Reviewer: 6328 Reviews